New Year’s Resolutions: 2017

So, in the grip of the schmancy bullet journaling madness, I ended up making a page for new year’s resolutions. What can I say, pretty pens just give you the urge to make pretty lists!

So, without further ado, here are my resolutions:

  • 2 hours of reading every day: in the midst of Battlemage, I realized that the story far outstripped my skill. I’m still working on that project (though Daughter of Ashes is at the forefront), but right now that work is almost all reading. I’m going back through the classics with a more professional eye, trying to tease out the secrets of what I loved (and I’m discovering plenty of new favorites along the way!)
  • The 5 minute rule: for things I don’t like much (email, etc), the 5 minute rule states that if it takes less than 5 minutes, it should be done now. That gets it out of your headspace and done, and everything hums along a little more smoothly. Here’s to unloading the dishwasher, throwing that load of laundry in, and answering emails 😉
  • Budgeting: I’ve switched over to using almost all cash, as well as building a fancy spreadsheet, and the most difficult part of the whole thing is getting to the bank. (In my defense, it’s cold out!) This resolution is for getting off my butt and staying on track.
  • Say no: A business goal, this one. One of the most pervasive pieces of advice from billionaires and successful entrepreneurs is to say no. A lot. There will be a lot of demands on your time, and the more focused you can keep yourself, the better work you will produce – so this is the year of saying no to work projects that fragment my attention, and yes to social engagements and new activities that get me out and learning new things.
  • Write every day: Specifically, my stuff. Longhand. As I keep chipping away at Battlemage, that slow progress can really add up!
  • Push myself but listen for hurt: One of the revelations of this year was that I was in no way listening to myself. I was pushing myself to work in ways I hated, never getting enough sleep, not hydrating, etc. This year is all about learning to push myself, but in a healthy way. There’s a difference between growing pain and injury pain, and I’m trying to get the first without the second!

What are yours, readers?

Leave a Reply

